I remember exactly where I was…

I tried to stay away from this all day today. I was hoping the current events in popular culture would be enough of a distraction from what today obviously remains to be, and for the most part they were. Yet around 11:30 I was on my way home taking the BQE which travels by Brooklyn Heights, which is right across the East River from lower Manhattan and I saw the tribute lights. Seems I was unsuccessful in my endeavor this day…

Cinema can relate emotion and sentiment better than any medium and Spike Lee is a master at his craft. In case you are unsure of what the video I posted is, it’s the opening sequence to The 25th Hour. An excellent movie based on the plot alone. Spike Lee however, decided to make the 9/11 tragedy a silent character ever present in the back drop, thus placing his stamp and marking a cities sentiment in time through film.

I was asleep on that morning 6 years ago, when I heard my sister say that a plane struck the twin towers. I thought she was being stupid, especially being that she was up at 8am, which was a rarity both then and now, so I decided to flip on the news to see what she was talking about. All the channels were down. I then ran up the ladder to the roof top where I had a close, clear city view, being I am from Williamsburg. What I saw that day I watched in utter disbelief. I need not go into the visuals of it all, being that it was seen around the world, but seeing it in person had so much more of an impact than any newscast could convey.

I lived in Williamsburg since birth and have always meant to take photos of the skyline, with the monumental twin towers at the centerpiece of my photo essay. It took me 20 years to finally follow through with my intention. I took a series of photos on September 7th 2001. I remember circulating them afterward online via AOL chatrooms as a comfort to New Yorkers who missed what security those towers represented.

Regardless of who you believe was responsible for that tragedy, the fact remains that is was indeed a tragic event. So 6 years later on a leasurley drive down the BQE, when I notice the tribute lights, It still tugs at my heart to this day. So I came to share my brief experience with those who can identify, and those who can’t.

21 Responses to “I remember exactly where I was…”

  1. cMac Says:

    i was in Art class….the teacher had the TV on, I thought it was an accident. A second plane hit. She was crying.

    I didn’t understand the importance until halfway through the day.

    I’ll never forget the smoke in the streets, the people jumping out the buildings.

  2. pockets Says:

    when i first heard about it, i was sittin in my class and i pictured a tiny one-person plane stuck halfway into a building and wondered wtf it looked like. then i looked out the window later on and saw the smoke and was shocked beyond belief. definitely something that i wont forget. every year i wonder when we can put 9/11 past us and not have the crying families at the memorial every year, but then when the time rolls around its clear that day is still fresh in everybody’s memory…its too bad some ppl have taken advantage of wat happened for political purposes (giuliani).

  3. bkscribe Says:

    Guliani is a fuckin villain in my eyes homie.. Damn were you in Tech by then? Tech had the ill view of the towers. Either way I know you over-stand my POV on the subject.

  4. green eyes Says:

    i was woke up and turned on god morning america, starting my usual morning routine. it took a moment for what was really going on to set in. i cant imagine witnessing it first hand

    beautiful post bk

  5. bkscribe Says:

    Thank you Greeny. had to take a step back from the musical fuckery for an instant to relay some true sentiment.

  6. Big Homie Says:

    The very moment it happen I skipped one of my classes and got the Blueprint. Got into to my later class about a half an hour or an hour after it happen and heard the news. It was crazy. Didnt know exactly what happen until I got to the crib and watched more of it on the news..the footage of it happening, the lives lost, the people running around..etc. Crazy.

    Smoking is bad. Props for not smoking homie

  7. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Man I can remember exactly where I was when this happened. I was at Uni, slackin off and not goin to class. I nipped out the spot for a minute to get some bacon I think and while I was at the corner store some dude told me a plane had flown in to the WTC. He said it flippantly like it was just a Cessna or something, so when I got back to the crib to see one of the towers ablaze I was dumbfounded. Then whilst havin my tea and crumpets, I could’nt believe it when I saw that second plane bowl into the second tower. Unbelievable. And like BK, no matter who the real perpertrators were, the fact is an enormous amount of people lost their lives and the sense of security and safety of a nation was violated. The July Tube Bombings in London leave me with a similar feeling because I was right in the midst of it. One of my sister’s friends had to be identified by his dental records.

    RIP to all those who perished in NY in 9/11/2001 and 7/7/2005 in London.

  8. EnglandRepresent Says:

    For real though BK post those pics man or hit me up nickcoates27@yahoo.co.uk cos I’d love to see them

  9. bkscribe Says:

    Eng.. Imma have to find the disk.. (I got em on a 3.5 disk. It was a hot minute ago) but as soon as I find the disk.. and a computer with an A drive.. imma send em to you. Trust. It’s ill because I had a feeling like I had to take those photos.. so i climed to my roof and took em with a mavica (a digi cam which instead of film used A disks) I had that Cam on the morning of 9/11 too. I’ll try n do it tomorrow.

  10. EnglandRepresent Says:

    I’d appreciate that greatly my brother. That would be dope as hell to see a different perspective of the Twin Towers but not from a conventional media source.

    *daps BK*

  11. EnglandRepresent Says:

    LF : That Mavica sounds like its so big it needs a diesel generator to power the fucker.

  12. bkscribe Says:

    the shit was type brolic.. I borrowed it from my aunt.. and the load an A disk interface was some hot shit back in the day.. now its like havin a brick cellphone.. I gotta find that disk now that i think of it.. before A disk computers are only found in museums

  13. Dr.Fuxie Teacher of Etherology Says:

    Yo thats dope Bk up them shits. I have a brick Motorola phone, I used to have it in my glove compartment just to show my homies or whoever. I tell them my older cousin was stunting back in the day when he used to run with the Cartel before he got popped by the Policia. I am not going to lie, I dont feel anything for 9/11 especially when all over the world terror type shit is happening on a much larger scale. Fuck Bush

  14. State of Grace Says:

    I remember my mom waking me up that day and shrugging her off because I was still tired and didn’t work for a few hours. Good post bk, I’m putting you on the blogroll

  15. bkscribe Says:

    @ Fux.. yea I feel you.. I mean every now and then some news report will glaze over the fact that tens of thousands of innocent civilians in pakistan and iraq have died. By comparison the numbers don’t add up with what happened here, but the theatrics of it, the reason why it happened and the people responsible (the evidence draws the conclusion for you, but I didn’t want to get into that here) make it stand out to me. Especially I’m from nyc born and raised, so the feeling is heightened. Believe it or not I can understand why you don’t feel anything for 9/11. and thas cool, different people have different perspectives.

    @ State of Grace.. Thanks homie.. I appreciate the gesture. I will do the same.

  16. woodro Says:

    PURE AND REAL….AND APPRECIATED WORD UP…

  17. bkscribe Says:

    Thanks homie.. I appreciate it.

  18. Furiou$tylez Says:

    i was gonna do a post in my blog about how this is one of the events where people will always remember where they were at and what they were doing…

    but then i got lazy…

    super props…

  19. bkscribe Says:

    Yea.. look at the time stamp on the entry.. 11:59.. almost didn’t do one, but them lights man.. they got to me.

  20. Furiou$tylez Says:

    yea i actually missed Ye and 50 on BET because i was watching shows about 9/11 on the History Channel…

    then one of those cable news channels replayed their news coverage for the whole day…

    interesting shit…

  21. Belize Says:

    I went to the marines cuz of this

Leave a Reply

